Christianithy By: Stefany tanev & claire o'malley

Christianity is monotheistic religion where the followers believe in one god which is Jesus. It was founded in Jerusalem with the main prophet being Jesus. Christianity began with the ministry of Jesus Christ, that began in the first century A.D. when he was around 30 years old. Modern times Israel and Palestine and past times Levant is where Christianity was started. Christian followers do not accept Muhammad as their prophet. Although, it began as an offshoot of Judaism, and converted to Christianity in 324 C.E., the third century. Christians believe Jesus died on the cross for our sins, then resurrected from the dead and went into heaven. Judaism, Christianity, and Islam are all Abrahamic religions. This means they all worship the god Abraham.

This is the holy bible, the book all Christians go by.

Christians are extremely big on their beliefs based off their religion. The holy book is called the bible and their place of worship is a church led by either a pope or an archbishop. The bible itself has parts of the old testaments from the Jewish Torah. In total it consists of 66 books, 39 which are from the old testament, and 27 from the New Testament. All Christians believe in a heaven and hell, they believe god will not let those in hell go unpunished due to the way they lived their life on Earth. To Christians they see the way Earth began in 3 different dimensions, The father, The son (Jesus), and the holy spirit.

At Easter time, people paint eggs to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus. The paint on eggs represents the blood of Jesus Christ that he shed on the cross.

There are many religious holidays for Christians but Some of the most well known religious holidays are Christmas, Easter, and Lent. Christmas takes place on December 25, a celebration day for the birth of Jesus. Easter is a Sunday in March or April, for the time when Jesus died then returned to life, otherwise known as resurrection. Lent is a period of 40 days, beginning on Ash Wednesday, when Christians give up something they enjoy until the 40 days is over.

This is a representation of what a typical household is decorated like around Christmas time.

The Christian religion is divided into 5 sects, although each have some twists and turns of their own all believe in the founder of life and how everything began. Those main 5 groups are The Church of the East, Oriental Orthodoxy, Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism, and Protestantism.


Created with images by geralt - "cross sunset sunrise" • Unsplash - "book bible bible study" • Hans - "egg colorful easter eggs"

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.