Rugby The real ball sport

Main international tournaments

National level

Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is a men's rugby union tournament contested every four years between the top international teams. The tournament was first held in 1987, when the tournament was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. New Zealand are the current champions, having defeated Australia in the final of the 2015 tournament in England.

The William Webb Ellis Cup, current holder New Zealand All Blacks

Four countries have won the trophy; New Zealand have won it three times, two teams have won twice, Australia and South Africa, while England have won it once.

The next tournament will be held in Japan in 2019, it is the first World Cup hosted in Asia.

Six Nations Tournament

The Six Nations Tournament is an annual international rugby union competition involving six European sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. It is sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland. The current champions are England, having won the 2016 tournament.

All time Six Nations winners:

  1. England-5 titles
  2. France-5 titles
  3. Wales- 4 titles
  4. Ireland-3 titles

Current champions: England

The most amazing thing about this trophy is that they didn't lose a single game

2015 Champions : Ireland

2014 Champions : Ireland Again

Highlights of the Game where England closed off a magnificent Grand Slam in the 2016 6 Nations Trophy

Club level

Champions Cup

Similar to the Football Champion's League, the Champions Cup hosts the top teams from all around the European Leagues, with England and France holding the biggest number of attendees (6 each) the rest of the countries (Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales) get 7 teams inside the Championship

The current champions, England's Saracens


Created with images by Fearless Fred - "Scrum" • Fearless Fred - "IMG_6301" • National Assembly For Wales / Cynulliad Cymru - "The RBS Six Nations Trophy. Wales Grand Slam Celebration, Senedd 19 March 2012 / Tlws Chwe Gwlad yr RSB. Dathliadau Camp Lawn Cymru, Senedd 19 Mawrth 2012" • Fearless Fred - "Farrell looks to pass..."

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.