Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week March 2-6, 2020

Field trip forms are due by this Friday!

We will encourage students to keep their cell phones/headphones put away during class time and during transitions in the hallway. As we move toward GMAS, we need our scholars focused on content and will try to keep distractions such as texting and social media to a minimum.
#CelebrateMonday 3/2
  • After school sports practices
#TurnUpTuesday 3/3
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Math quiz
  • Soccer Game 4:00 away (Metter)
  • Baseball Game 4:30 home (Toombs)
#WinWednesday 3/4
  • MAP Reading Testing
  • After school sports practices
  • Track Meet away (SE Bulloch HS)
#ThankfulThursday 3/5
  • MAP Math Testing
  • Soccer Game 4:30 home (PHA-Girls)
  • Baseball Game 4:30 home (S. Tattnall)
#FocusFriday 3/6
  • Track Meet away (Statesboro High)
  • Aldred's classes Genetics Test
  • READ 180 - SRI Testing
  • Club Day!

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon): This week we will continue reading "The Red Scarf Girl". We have been annotating and reading in class. Students are also responsible for completing
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller):Read 180 scholars have a busy week coming up. They will discover another extreme sport “Tough Mudder” and all the challenges it brings. Scholars will have the opportunity to show how much they have grown academically this week. They will take their Reading Map Assessment on Wednesday and Math Map Assessment on Thursday. Scholars will finish up the week by completing their SRI Lexile Assessment on Friday. Parents, please be sure your scholar get plenty of rest this week so they are prepared for Map Assessments.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): Students will continue learning about probability. On Tuesday they will have a short quiz. By Wednesday, students will combine everything they have learned about probability to practice finding probability of independent and dependent events. On Friday, students will be participating in a cross-curricular activity with their science class and will challenge themselves to take everything they have learned about probability to complete a mammal madness bracket.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): We are wrapping up Genetics Test in Ms. Aldred's class on Friday, so we can get READY TO RUMBLE with March Mammal Madness!!!!!!!! Classification and Evolution are going to be on Fire this Month as we study each Divisions adaptions, traits and family lineage. It is going to be "Survival of the Fittest" between the Tiny Terrors, Double Trouble, Cats-ish vs Dogs-ish and AnthropoSCENE. #2020MMM May the best animal win!
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): This week, students wrap up the unit on Africa geography. We will learn about the ethnic and religious groups that make up the diverse population of Africa. Students will make a poster depicting several characteristics of their chosen region in Africa later in the week and on Friday, we will complete the study guide in preparation for their unit test.

Look what we have been up to!

It was an #elite #MotivationMonday at @BryanCountyMS for our class meeting! @missliz31 reviewed grade level goals and upcoming events. 🤓 Local law enforcement officers also discussed the dangers of social media with our students and encouraged them to be positive peers.👍🏻
Station rotations today as students examined maps related to the geography and environmental challenges in Africa. Excellent discussions of content and exposure to multiple sources!
Celebrating the successes of our school is one of our favorite things! Monday, we honored our girls and boys basketball teams for ELITE seasons• including a Boy’s Region Championship!
Students in Mrs. Gordon's class compared modern bullying behavior with that of students during the Cultural Revolution in "The Red Scarf Girl."

March Grade Level Field Trip Fort King George

Field Trip Forms are on bright yellow paper!

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us