Loading

7th Grade Peek of the Week February 10-14, 2020

This week we are going to begin our monthly 7 Mindsets focus on demonstrating "An Attitude of Gratitude." Through the Attitude of Gratitude Mindset, we are taught that we can use either the positives or negatives in our lives as a foundation on which to build. Choose the positives, and we are on our way toward extraordinary success! By focusing on the things we have, there is no time to be distracted by what we don’t have.

We will encourage students to keep their cell phones/headphones put away during class time and during transitions in the hallway. As we move toward GMAS, we need our scholars focused on content and will try to keep distractions such as texting and social media to a minimum.
#CelebrateMonday 2/10
  • Candy grams sold during homeroom
  • After school sports practices
#TurnUpTuesday 2/11
  • Tutoring 3:35-4:30
  • Candy grams sold during homeroom
  • After school sports practices
#WinWednesday 2/12
  • Candy grams sold during homeroom-last day
  • After school sports practices
  • Geometry test during long block class
#ThankfulThursday 2/13
  • After school sports practices
  • Geometry test during long block class
#FocusFriday 2/14
  • Club Day!
  • Happy Valentine's Day-Candy grams delivered
  • Kona Ice Day!!!! Bring your $$$$ and cups!
  • SE Asia History Test
Parents, below you will find information about tryouts for Baseball, Soccer, Track, and Golf. Also check out the information about our new online physical system. If your scholar is planning to try out for Spring Sports, now is a great time to get that physical done.

Content Info For The Week

  • ELA (Gordon): This week we will begin our first Literature based DBQ. Students will determine if "The Community" is a dystopia or a utopia. The Giver movie is available for students to watch on google classroom and is excellent. I will be sending home an extra credit assignment to go along with the movie. As always let me know if you have any questions or concerns.
  • Read 180 (Hester & Miller): Students will dive into a new Workshop this week by actively watching a video on extreme sports. In this Workshop about extreme sports, students will meet daring athletes who perform daredevil stunts and endure grueling obstacle courses. They will also write an argumentative essay in which they will tell whether or not the benefits of extreme sports outweigh the risks.
  • Math (Allmond, Fulton, Lothridge): Students will wrap up geometry by learning hwo to find the volume and surface are of composite 3D figures on Monday. By Tuesday, students will receive their study guides. We will go over the study guides before taking the test and the study guide key will be posted to google classroom Tuesday afternoon. The Geometry Unit Test will be WEDNESDAY AND THURSDAY! On Friday students will work on completing their iReady assignments over volume and surface area.
  • Science (Aldred & Tedder): With genetics comes probability. Students will learn how to create a punnet square and make predictions about traits and alleles this week in class. We will also focus on vocabulary and have a quick check of terms on Friday. See Google Classroom for a list of words and definitions. Plus, we want to incorporate some more MATH, GRAPHING and LOVE this week in SCIENCE, so we will do some Valentine's Day graphing.
  • Social Studies (Lewis & Waddell): We are wrapping up our unit on SE Asia history this week! Students will have the opportunity to wrap up their choice board assignments as well as completing their study guide in preparation for their test. During the long block class period, students will spend the time reviewing/studying for their test. Test on Friday!

Look what we have been up to!

We had an ExExExcellent trip to Washington, D.C. this week! Scholars were able to visit multiple Smithsonian Museums, attend a Washington Wizards NBA game, visit Arlington National Cemetery where they laid a wreath to honor the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, and so much more!
An elite group of students participated in a Mystery Case in Science today. After practicing identifying their own fingerprints they dusted the scene of the crime for fingerprints to identify the culprit. Future detectives, FBI agents, and chemists solving the mystery one case at a time! Science is FUN!!!

Deadline to sign up for the Atlanta field trip is March 1st!

March Grade Level Field Trip to Atlanta

2019-2020 7th Grade Trip

Date: Friday, March 27th

Trip #13401

$165-Paid in Full by: March 1st

*Offered via Kelly Tours*

https://kellytours.com/

**Behavior Requirements Apply**

7th Grade Team Contact Info!

Teachers pictured from left to right:

Anna Waddell-Social Studies-awaddell@bryan.k12.ga.us

Drew Fulton-Math-dfulton@bryan.k12.ga.us

Lindsey Lothridge-Math-llothridge@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anna Lewis-Social Studies-alewis@bryan.k12.ga.us

John Allmond-ESS Math-jallmond@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bethany Gordon-ELA-bgordon@bryan.k12.ga.us

Melissa Tedder-Science-mtedder@bryan.k12.ga.us

Bobi Hester-ESS Read 180-bhester@bryan.k12.ga.us

Brandi Miller-Read 180-brandi.miller@bryan.k12.ga.us

Anne Marie Aldred-Science-aaldred@bryan.k12.ga.us

BCMS Administration Team!

Liz Raeburn-Principal-eraeburn@bryan.k12.ga.us

Abram Scott-Assistant Principal-ascott@bryan.k12.ga.us

Blaine Ennis-Assistant Principal/Athletic Director-bennis@bryan.k12.ga.us