Concerts are free and no tickets are required. Please note that seating will be limited and masks and COVID vaccination are required at all concerts.

All concerts will also livestream on youtube.com/usmarineband.


Sunday, Oct. 10 • 2 PM (ET)

John Philip Sousa Band Hall, Marine Barracks Annex, 1053 7th St. SE, Washington, DC

Staff Sgt. Timothy Huizenga, coordinator

  • Franz Schubert/ed. Hoch | Auf Dem Strom, D. 943
  • David Bruce | Gumboots
  • Mark O’Connor/arr. O’Connor & Meyer | Appalachia Waltz
  • traditional/arr. O’Connor & Meyer | College Hornpipe
  • Richard Wagner | Siegfried Idyll

This unique program is full of music that inspires hope, even as much of the music was born out of adversity. The first piece is a beautiful setting of Ludwig Rellstab’s poem Auf Dem Strom, by Franz Schubert for horn, voice, and piano, written as a tribute and elegy to the late Ludwig van Beethoven. The text is one of farewell, love and loss, but ultimately finding peace in what lies ahead. David Bruce’s Gumboots, for clarinet and strings, is an example of how something beautiful and life-enhancing can come from something far more negative. The piece was inspired by “gumboot dancing,” a form of dance born out of the terrible labor conditions for miners in apartheid South Africa. Mark O’Connor’s Appalachia Waltz is a moving and undoubtedly American-sounding piece for string trio, influenced by both Scandinavian and Appalachian folk fiddling, and the College Hornpipe is a lively fiddle tune that will make you want to get up and dance! The concert concludes with Richard Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll, which he wrote as a birthday gift to his wife Cosima. From the distant call of the horn in Schubert’s Auf Dem Strom, to the foot stomping dance styles of Gumboots and College Hornpipe, to the cascading rising melody in Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll, this concert will leave you feeling inspired and hopeful!

Sunday, Oct. 17 • 2 PM (ET)

John Philip Sousa Band Hall, Marine Barracks Annex, 1053 7th St. SE, Washington, DC

Staff Sgt. Lewis Gilmore, coordinator

  • Ingolf Dahl | Music for Brass Instruments
  • Darius Milhaud | Suite for Violin, Clarinet, and Piano, Op. 157b
  • Bohuslav Martinů | Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Cello and Piano, H. 315
  • Igor Stravinsky | Histoire du Soldat

This concert focuses on four composers who moved to the United States during World War II. Ingolf Dahl moved to Los Angeles in 1939 to escape Nazi persecution and quickly joined the circle of composers there, which already included Igor Stravinsky and Darius Milhaud. Dahl became a U.S. citizen in 1944, the same year he wrote Music for Brass Instruments. Milhaud composed the Suite for Violin, Clarinet, and Piano just a few years before fleeing France for California in 1940. Over the next decade he helped found the Music Academy of the West festival and taught students such as Dave Brubeck and Burt Bacharach. Bohuslav Martinů fled through Europe in several stops before coming to New York in 1941. He lived in Manhattan and taught at the Mannes College of Music and the Tanglewood Center in Lenox, Mass., for the next twelve years, during which time he composed his Quartet for Oboe, Violin, Cello and Piano. Stravinsky’s Histoire du Soldat was composed in Switzerland in 1918, less than ten years after the premières of his ballets that made him world famous, and 20 years before he eventually moved to the U.S in 1941, settling in Los Angeles where he lived for most of the rest of his life.

Sunday, Oct. 24 • 2 PM (ET)

John Philip Sousa Band Hall, Marine Barracks Annex, 1053 7th St. SE, Washington, DC

Staff Sgt. Ryo Usami, coordinator

  • Max Bruch | String Octet in B-flat, Opus posth.
  • Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel | String Quartet in E-flat
  • Clara Schumann | Three Romances for Violin and Piano, Opus 22
  • Felix Mendelssohn | Sextet in D, Opus 110, MWV Q 16

This concert will feature just strings and piano, and the theme centers around German pieces and composers that may have been overlooked in their lifetime. Max Bruch’s octet was never performed or published during his lifetime and was his final composition during a time when new styles of composing such as atonal and serialist music were gaining popularity. Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel’s quartet was not published until after her death, and she faced criticism as a female musician and composer from a high class family. Clara Schumann enjoyed a brilliant solo piano career, but had reservations as there was a widespread belief that women were not born to write music for the public. Felix Mendelssohn enjoyed a career as a composer, pianist, violinist and conductor, but this piano sextet was not published until after his death even though it was composed when he was just 15 years old.

Sunday, Oct. 31 • 2 PM (ET)

John Philip Sousa Band Hall, Marine Barracks Annex, 1053 7th St. SE, Washington, DC

Staff Sgt. Stephen Rudman, coordinator

  • Richard Strauss/arr. Hasenöhrl | Till Eulenspiegel - einmal anders!, Opus 28
  • Robert Schumann | Märchenerzählungen (Fairy Tales), Opus 132
  • Valerie Coleman | “Rubispheres” No. 3
  • Grazyna Bacewicz | Trio for Oboe, Violin, and Cello
  • Camille Saint-Saëns/arr. Shaw | Danse macabre, Opus 40
  • Modest Mussorgsky/arr. Linckelmann | Night on Bald Mountain

Just like a great novel, music has the ability of telling fantastical stories and immersing the listener in a different place and time. Composers can use melody, rhythm, and other musical devices to create a narrative or depict a setting that captivates the imagination. At this Halloween concert, come enjoy a variety of plots, characters, and scenes that are told through a musical lens. The musicians of the United States Marine Band will narrate the antics of a medieval prankster in Richard Strauss’ Till Eulenspiegel - einmal anders!; take you through the streets of Manhattan in Valerie Coleman’s “Rubispheres” No. 3; and give you a bit of a fright—perfect for Halloween—with scary depictions by Camille Saint-Saëns and Modest Mussorgsky. Come join us for these and other exciting tales!