Loading

Meet your UWS Tutors! University of Wisconsin - superior

Ririko Miura

Majoring in Business management, Junior, graduating in Spring 2022

Hometown: Chiba, Japan

My major is Business Management. After graduating from UWS, I want to study law in Japan to be a lawyer.

I chose to be a tutor since I like helping people! I also think it is such a great opportunity to share ideas by working on the same question together. The experience will help me broaden my perspective.

Courses tutored: Accounting 201; Math 090, 096/097, 112, 113, 115, 151; Business 270; Econ 250, 251; Japanese

Enrique Lazaro Sanchez

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Majoring in Computer Science, Junior, Graduating Spring 2023

From Madrid, Spain

I chose Computer Science because I have been always interested in technology and how everything that we use on a daily basis works. My dream job would be some job in which I could do what I love at the same time I am working. I love basketball and traveling to different places so I can learn about different cultures and perspectives, so I guess you can tell why I am here.

I become a tutor to be able to help other people.

Courses tutored: College Spanish; Math 090, 096/097, 112, 113, 115, 240, 310

Brena Darwin

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Majoring in Psychology, Sophomore, graduating Spring 2023

From Iron River, WI

The reason I decided to major in Psychology is I wanted to be someone to talk to when someone else is facing challenging times. After I complete my Bachelor's in Science I would take the next step for a Master's in Science in becoming a Therapist. I would like to help others who have troubles with mental illness or even get out of a negative headspace without the use of unhealthy habits.

I became a tutor because: I used to work at LSC in the science labs, which consist of cleaning and organizing the labs. On Fridays there wouldn't be a lot of work to do, but we opened the labs up to anyone who needed to use them for studying. I was also taking Anatomy and Physiology 2, so having classmates use the lab on Fridays they would sometimes ask me questions on certain areas. Having the work effort and able to help other students in their studies made me ultimately want to become a tutor. I want to help everyone to their full potential in their education.

Courses tutored: Biology 115, 270; Comm 110; Environmental Science 100; History 111; Psychology 101

Nick Reberg

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Majoring in Accounting and Business Management: Finance, Junior, graduating Spring 2022

From Foley, WI

In my free time I like to go hiking along the North Shore, hang out with my friends, and do accounting of course! I chose my major because I do genuinely enjoy accounting and most things business. For my future goals/aspirations, I would love to be a business advisor of sorts, or something in corporate accounting. The thought of working in a big company like 3M or Ecolab is absolutely thrilling.

I chose to become a tutor because I really like to help people. To be fair though, I just like talking to people. :)

Courses tutored: Accounting 200, 352, 355; Business 211; Economics 250, 251

Josiah Grant

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Majoring in Math, Junior, graduating Spring 2022

From Superior, WI

Hi! I'm Josiah and I'm a junior here at UWS. I'm majoring in Math, a subject I really enjoy and find super interesting. Right now, my main goal is to go to graduate school and then make an impact on the still-emerging field of Mathematical Biology. I play a lot of video and board games, and I've recently had enough time to get back into reading for fun.

I chose to become a tutor because it's a really good way to give back to the campus community. I've had people help me through classes, and now I can turn around and help do that for others!

Courses tutored: Math 090, 096/067, 112, 113, 115, 240, 310, 371; Computer Science 201; Physics 107; Biology 115, 130, 132, 330

Peter Gosswiller

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Majoring in Transportation & Logistics Management and Supply Chain Management, Senior, graduating Spring 2021

From Cokato, MN

This is my second semester of tutoring and I really enjoy it. When I’m not working on this I can usually be found doing school, sleeping, or working on other projects. I also enjoy exploring the outdoors, reading, and hanging out with friends. I look forward to learning with all of you!

I really enjoyed taking the subjects that I now tutor and so when the opportunity came up to tutor, it was a no-brainer for me to take the job.

Courses tutored: Business 211, 270, 306, 370, 380; Transportation and Logistics 300; Economics 333

Danika Steggall

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Majoring in Biology & Environmental Science, Junior, graduating Spring 2022

From Ripon, WI

While I am mainly science-focused, I also highly enjoy writing. During my spare time I watch TV, hang out with friends, read, spend time outdoors, write fiction and poetry, and play video games. I started off as just a Biology major my freshman year, but added on the Environmental Science major and Writing minor as I took more courses and explored the different fields and possible career opportunities. My dream career is to be a marine biologist, but because we don't have many marine biology programs in Wisconsin, I'd love to work in an aquarium or with the DNR and work with animals.

I chose to become a tutor because I genuinely enjoy helping people and will go the extra mile to help you succeed and meet your goals.

Courses tutored: Biology: 115, 130, 132, 330; Chemistry 106; Environmental Science: 100; Geology: 110

Jowi Marcyjanik

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Majoring in Mathematics, Senior, graduating in 2022

From Bloomer, WI

I'm Jowi, I'm a math major, and I absolutely love math. I've been a tutor and an SI for the department for a few years, and I enjoy getting to talk about math and help students. My goal is to become a math professor and get my PhD one day. When I'm not in class or working, I love playing video games, watching TV, and being outside when the weather is nice. I look forward to working with you!

I became a tutor because I enjoy helping students learn about math.

Courses tutored: Math 090, 096/097, 113

Carson Haase

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Majoring in Transportation & Logistics Management and Supply Chain Management, Senior, graduating this Spring

From Brandon, South Dakota

Hello All! My name is Carson, I am a graduating senior in the T & L program here at UWS. I am currently living in Fargo, North Dakota, and am working for Bobcat as procurement co-op until after graduation. In my spare time, I like to watch movies, hangout with my friends, try new recipes, or play Animal Crossing on my Switch. Right now I am an assigned Business Statistics and Management Science Tutor, and look forward to helping fellow students any way that I can!

I chose to become a tutor after failing/dropping the course I tutor in the first time that I took it. When I tried to take it at first, I was behind, and wasn't understanding what I was doing. I retook the course the next semester, and would work with the tutor religiously and it really helped me, enough to get an A in the course! I ended up really enjoying the material and wanted to help others that were in the same situation that I was in!

Courses tutored: Business 270, 306

Daniela Leon

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Biology major, Senior, graduating Spring 2021

From Bogota, Colombia

I'm a really enthusiastic person who enjoys meeting other people. I'm always open to help people on whatever they need or even go and get a coffee. I love coffee. I really enjoy working out, drawing, reading and what I enjoy the most is being at the lab doing research. As I enjoy research the most I choose Biology as my major with a minor in chemistry. My goal is to go to grad school for Marine Biology and conservation.

I choose to become a tutor because I feel that there are areas where I feel comfortable helping others understand material. Also one big point was the fact that I have also struggled with some classes and I have used the tutor services and I believe that they are really helpful so I decided to help others too.

Courses tutored: Biology: 115, 130; Chemistry 102, 105, 106, 107; Math 090

Sam Dettle

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Chemistry and Biology Major, Senior, Graduating Spring 2021

From Spooner, WI

I enjoy snowboarding, basketball, cross country skiing, biking, pretty much every outdoor sport I enjoy. I came here for pre-engineering my freshman year switched to pre-medical, and now I am looking at switching to graduate school in biochemistry. Moral of the story, don't worry so much about what you are going for. Take classes that set you apart from your peers if you are looking to go on to higher education, take classes you enjoy, and don't forget to enjoy life at the same time.

I became a tutor because, I really enjoy that moment where a tutee comes to understand a concept they thought was too hard for them initially. I love the feedback of when people take tests and they are pleasantly surprised because their studying/tutoring paid off.

Courses tutored: Biology 330; Chemistry: 105, 106, 107, 320, 321; Math: 090, 096/097, 112, 113, 115, 240, 241; Physics: 107, 108, 160; Psychology: 301

Lam Mai

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Finance and International Business Major, Junior, graduating Spring 2022

From Vietnam

I am an international student from Vietnam, and I chose Finance and International Business as my majors because I would like to work in an international environment. I have been staying in Superior for three years, and it's one of the greatest experiences in my life. I like hanging out with my friends and doing some outdoor activities like riding a bicycle, hiking, fishing, etc., at the weekend. Traveling and learning about different cultures worldwide are also my interests, and being a student at UWS helps me get to know many students from different countries with different backgrounds. Feel free to ask me any questions, and I am happy to talk to you!

I chose to become a tutor because I like helping people and sharing my knowledge and experience with others.

Courses Tutored: Business 211, 270; Econ 250, 251; Math 090, 096/097, 112, 113, 115, 151

Zhenyu Zhang

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Transportation & Logistics Management and Supply Chain Management major, Senior, graduating Spring 2021

From Suzhou, Chinga

I am an international student from the east coast of China and this is my senior year at UWS. I like watching movies and play soccer when I am free. The reason why I chose T&L as my major is because I found intermodal transportation really fascinates me.

I chose to become a tutor because I always feel happy and motivated to help others.

Courses Tutored: Business: 306, Economics: 250, 251, Math: 090, 096/097, 130, 151

Holly duchene

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Mathematics major, senior, graduating Spring 2022

From Medford, MN

I grew up in southern Minnesota on a small hobby farm before moving to a farm north of Duluth. I have 3 children and 3 grandchildren. I also have 8 horses and 2 dogs. I enjoy fishing, horseback riding, hiking and camping in the summer. In the winter, I spend most of my time with work, school and crocheting. I am currently majoring in mathematics and hope to obtain a teaching licensure as well. my future plan is to teach high school Math along with college algebra and pre-calculus.

I became a tutor to help students become more confident in their math skills and help them understand the concepts behind what they are trying to achieve.

Courses tutored: Math 090, 096/097, 112, 113, 115, 151, and 240