Australia The land of the coral reef

Where is Australia

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth largest country by total area.


A representation of Australia colored with the image of the Australian flag.

Australia has several flags, but two of them are represented in the figure ms above.

  • The first flag, the australian flag, is composed by a blue field with the Union Jack in the corner and a large seven-pointed white star known as Commonwealth Star under the Union Jack. But this flag contains a representation of the constellation of the Southern Cross.
  • This flag is the Coat of Arms of Australia, officially called the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, and is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia (explanation in the "History" part). A shield, depicting symbols of Australia's six states, is held up by the native Australian animals, the kangaroo and the emu, under the seven-pointed Commonwealth Star.
Shield of arms of Australia

Capital city

Australia's capital is Canberra, but the most populated city is Sydney.

The capital city of Australia, Canberra.


Human habitation of the Australian continent is estimated to have begun around 65,000 to 70,000 years ago with the migration of people by land bridges and short sea-crossings from what is now Southeast Asia. These first inhabitants were the ancestors of modern Indigenous Australians. The native People of Australia are the Aborigines.

Ancestors: antenati

The Aborigines were nomads (they don't live in one place), and their way of life was called the "Walkabout"; they sometimes lived in caves and we can still see the painted they did in that caves.

In 17th century the Europeans visited the island, but they didn't settle there until around the 17th and 18th centuries.

A representation of Captain James Cook

In 1770 Captain James Cook from England landed in Australia and called it the "New South Wales". The Australia became part of the British empire.

The first inhabitants of Australia were the Aborigines and the convicts.

But from 1800s, many Europeans and Britons left their homes for start a new life in Australia. The population increased, and the immigration too. Sheep farming became an important industry and, after they discovered gold, lot of people went to Australia.

There were six colonies in Australia:

  • New South Wales
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Queensland
  • Western Australia

On 1st January 1901 the six colonies became a federation called the Commonwealth of Australia.

During the 20th century, Australian became more independent, and the Australian Act of 1986 meant that the Australian government, not Britain, made all the laws of Australia.


Australia is completely surrounded by the ocean.

Most of Australia is empty because most of it is desert, but there are some beautiful attractions that invite the tourists to visit Australia: for example, the Great Coral Reef.

The Great Coral Reef

In Australia there are some pink lakes, but the most important and the most visited is the Lake Hiller.

The Lake Hiller

Some of the most curious animals of the world live in Australia, but the animals symbols of that island are kangaroos and koalas.

A Koala
The climate of Australia

In Australia you can meet a dolphin, a shark, a crocodile or an emu, you can take a dive in the coral reef, you can see the outback, you can go to Uluru, a World Heritage Site and one of the oldest and still inhabited by the aborigines landscapes, you can challenge yourself on the Australian Alps, skiing and walking among the snow or drink a good wine in the Margaret River vineyards.

In conclusion, in Australia you’ll always find something to do.

Created by Linda Fusini 3B

Created By
Linda Fusini

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.