NRC SEMI FINAL: QUEENSLAND COUNTRY defeat FIJAN DRUA 57-21 Clive Berghofer Stadium, Toowoomba| Sunday 5 November | KICK-OFF: 2:00pm

Bond university queensland country defeat fijian drua 57-21

Bond University Queensland Country have booked their place in the National Rugby Championship grand final, defeating Fijian Drua 57-21 in their semi-final at Clive Berghofer Stadium in Toowoomba on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

Country notched eight tries in front of a healthy crowd of 2,000 in the picturesque garden city, as their forwards provided significant momentum to set the platform for a powerful win.

Country will head to the nation’s capital next weekend to take on the Canberra Vikings in the grand final at 7:30pm (local time) on Saturday 11 November.

"As a team, Queensland Country haven’t been in this situation before. The core group of players have been with this squad for the last few seasons so it’s a great reward for them to progress through to the grand final." Head Coach Brad Thorn

First half - scoring plays

6MIN: Taniela Tupou breaks through the defensive line before throwing a no-look, over the shoulder pass to Caleb Timu to dot down for the first try. Tuttle conversion is good. Country lead 7-0.

18MIN: Country set up a 5m maul before releasing Paia'aua who steps his opposite number to touch down under the posts. Tuttle adds the extras. Country lead 14-0.

29MIN: Timu scores his second with a run off the back of a dominant 5m scrum. Tuttle adds the conversion and Country lead 21-0.

35MIN: Drua hit back with their first try of the match to Rarawa. Waqatabu adds the extras, Drua trail 21-7.

38MIN: Tupou extends Country's lead with a lovely run off the back of a 22m lineout. Conversion no good but Country enter the break up 26-7.

second half - scoring plays

44MIN: Country are in again, Nabuli draws and offloads to Feauai-Sautia to score in the corner. Tuttle nails the conversion from the sideline and Country lead 33-7.

47MIN: The Drua hit back with a double to Rarawa, burrowing over from short range. Conversion is good. Drua trail 33-14.

50MIN: TRY TIME. James touches down after a nice kick ahead is regathered by Nabuli. Conversion no good but Country lead 38-14.

54MIN: Drua hit back with Rarawa crossing for a hat-trick after a quick tap close to the line. Conversion is good and Drua trail 38-21.

60MIN: Tupou is in for a double, barging over after strong lead up work from his teammates. Tuttle conversion is good and Country lead 45-21.

73MIN: Paia'aua has a double. Lovely try off the back of a kick ahead of Daugunu

79MIN: Nabuli is in, picking up a loose ball and running 50m with a beaming grin to score. Conversion is good and Country lead 57-21.

FULL TIME: Bond University Queensland Country defeat Fijian Drua 57-21. We're off to the grand final!

Bond University Queensland Country 57 (Caleb Timu 2, Duncan Paia’aua, Taniela Tupou 2, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Pat James, Duncan Paia’aua, Eto Nabuli tries; James Tuttle 5, Filipo Daugunu 1 conversions) defeated Fijian Drua 21 (Vesi Rarawa 3 tries; Apisalome Waqatabu 3 conversions) at Clive Berghofer Stadium in Toowoomba on Sunday 5 November, 2017.



1. James Slipper - Bond University/Gold Coast

2. Alex Mafi - Bond University/Mount Isa

3. Taniela Tupou - Brothers

4. Angus Blyth - Bond University/Gold Coast

5. Harry Hockings - University of Queensland/Bowen

6. Angus Scott-Young - University of Queensland

7. Tai Ford - Bond University/Gold Coast

8. Caleb Timu - Souths

9. James Tuttle - GPS

10. Hamish Stewart - Bond University/Toowoomba

11. Eto Nabuli - GPS

12. Duncan Paia'aua - Norths/Rockhampton

13. Chris Feauai-Sautia - Souths

14. Filipo Daugunu - Wests

15. Patrick James - Brothers


16. Alex Casey - Souths

17. Richie Asiata - Easts

18. Gareth Ryan - Brothers (potential NRC and Queensland Country debut)

19. Phil Potgieter - University of Queensland/Toowoomba

20. Ted Postal - Brothers

21. Tate McDermott - University of Queensland/Sunshine Coast

22. Tony Hunt - University of Queensland

23. Teti Tela - Souths

“We’ve worked hard to change the culture and attitude of the side this year and the playing group have all bought in and come together as a unit." Head Coach, Brad Thorn



1. Eroni Mawi

2. Vesi Rarawa

3. Kalivate Tawake

4. Mataiasi Ucutabua

5. Peni Naulago

6. Samuela Saqiwa

7. Vaikali Mudu

8. Peni Raidre

9. Seru Cuvuilati

10. Kini Douglas

11. Apete Daveta

12. Cyril Reece

13. John Stewart

14. Eroni Sau

15. Apisalome Waqatabu


16. Semi Keli

17. Osea Naganilau

18. Samuela Newa

19. Filimoni Seru

20. Sakiusa Nadruku

21. Sakiusa Gavidi

22. Meli Nakarawa

23. Ifereimi Tovilevu


Saturday 11th november

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.