Parent Connect February 10, 2017

Online Registration for 2017-18 School Year Now Open

Online registration for the 2017-2018 school year is now open! Online registration, through the program InfoSnap, eases the completion and submission of a multitude of forms that are required to register your students with the district. Click here to visit our website to register your returning student. Current students will need a password, also known as a Snapcode, to register online. Parents/guardians will receive a letter next week with their child's snapcode and you can access the snapcode in the Power School Parent Portal/Student Portal by selecting "Account Preferences." The snapcode will be displayed directly under "Account Preferences" once selected. Click here to register a new student (i.e. kindergarten). If you have questions, please contact your child's school or the Administration Building at (812) 283-0701.

VEX IQ Challenge

On February 4th, Wilson Elementary hosted a VEX IQ Challenge - 2017 Rookie Scrimmage for GCCS Elementary Robotics Teams from across the district. In the VEX Competitions, presented by the Robotics Education & Competition Foundations, teams of students were tasked with designing and building a robot to play against other teams. Classroom STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Manufacturing) concepts were put to the test on the playing field as students learned lifelong skills in teamwork, leadership, communications, and more. This scrimmage event allowed teams to meet each other, learn about scoring and see on a smaller scale the opportunities that lie ahead.

Parkview M.S. Wins Clark/Floyd Tournament

Congratulations to the Parkview Middle School 7th grade boys' basketball team for winning the Clark/Floyd Basketball Tournament!

GCCS Promising Practices

On Tuesday, February 7th, the GCCS Board of School Trustees recognized two schools and two district programs for being name by the Indiana Department of Education as a Promising Practice. The Promising Practices: Making it Happen initiative celebrates and recognizes schools across the state of Indiana for their effective implementation of innovative and/or inclusive educational practices. By highlighting these practices, an opportunity for educators to network with one another is created which allows educators to learn about best practices that are taking place throughout our great state.

Congratulations to Bridgepoint Elementary, Principal Jackie Diaz and former Interim-Principal Denise Ellnor for being recognized for the Read and Feed program. The Read and Feed bus traveled through neighborhoods surrounding the school this past summer. Students were provided with a healthy meal three days per week and also a book to take home to read during the summer months. The program was funded through a School Improvement Grant and was fully staffed by Bridgepoint Elementary teachers. Over 575 meals were served and hundreds of books distributed.

Congratulations to River Valley Middle School, Principal Michelle Dyer and Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Education Dr. Steve Griffin for being recognized for their Summer Scholar Program. River Valley partnered with the Clark County YMCA to provide full-day learning experiences for students in grades 6-8 that used small group, rigorous intervention and fun, hands-on enrichment activities to provide Language Arts and Math instruction. Students began each day with community time, then worked on language arts and math skills for 3 hours, using research-based curriculum provided by the Bell Summer Learning Program. Following lunch, YMCA staff members engaged students in enrichment activities. By working together, they helped all students #BeGreater.

Congratulations to the district’s Pre-School/Early Childhood Program for being recognized for serving nearly 300 students age 3-5 in an integrated setting for students of all abilities. The district originally started the process of providing preschool in order to provide for students with disabilities. Our focus was for that to be an integrated preschool where students with and without disabilities could be served in the same classroom. To accomplish a program in every building and meet the needs of the community and our students, the district applied for an Indiana Early Education Grant. This grant has allowed the district to provide a preschool program in every building and to reach out to students with 100 percent poverty to provide them with a daily, high quality preschool program and transportation to and from school. Every preschool teacher has had extensive training in Early Childhood education and/or special education. Teachers are also trained in Conscious Discipline, Safe Crisis Management, CPR and First Aid. GCCS pre-school staff includes Executive Director of Special Populations Ann Schnepf and Supervisor of Special Education Eileen Humphrey and teachers Elizabeth Clarke, Dana Wiles, Carey Voignier, Brenda Traill, Ali Taylor, Mary Beth Cochran, Brittany Mellum-Schoen, Angi McEwen, Sara Niemier, Aimee Radford, Alyssa Scott and Cathy McKenzie.

Congratulations to the district’s Technology Department for being recognized for the effective implementation and integration of the 1:1 Chromebook Initiative. The district is in its fourth year of the initiative, providing over 8,000 students in grades 3-12 with a Chromebook, in order to provide students with access to technology and access to knowledge. The 1:1 initiative has transformed the district’s classroom learning environment by utilizing the Google platform and leveling the playing field for all students. Thank you to all past and current technology staff members that have played a key role in the implementation of this initiative. Technology staff includes Executive Director of School & Instructional Improvement Amy Schellenberg and Director of Technology Brett Clark, and current and former technology staff members J.T. Cox, Katie Hutchinson, Melissa Stewart, Jessica Broady, Scott Stewart, Jason Davis, Mark Voignier, Keith Morris, Justin Murray, Jorge Garcia, David Nelson, Zach Voignier, Libby McCreight and Suzanne Whitaker.

2017 Girls' Basketball Regional at Charlestown High School

On Saturday, February 11, Charlestown High School will be hosting the IHSAA 3A Regional Tournament. Region 8 will be comprised of Sectional winners from Sectionals 29, 30, 31, and 32. Information for the Regional Tournament can be found at CharlestownTourney.INFO. More information for the girls basketball state tournament can also be found at the IHSAA website.

Snow Make-Up Day

School will be in session on Presidents Day - Monday, February 20th, as a makeup day for the January 5th snow day. Please mark your calendar!

Made with Adobe Slate

Make your words and images move.

Get Slate

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.