U.S. Department of Labor By: Chelsea Murray

Founded in 1913

Current Secretary of Labor: Ed Hugler

Edward Hugler. Digital image. Service To America Medals. N.p., n.d. Web. 6 Apr. 2017.

The United States Department of Labor was formed under President William Howard Taft in 1913, just before Woodrow Wilson took the office. This department was formed after organized labor spent 50 years campaigning for a "voice in the cabinet." The first Secretary of Labor, appointed by President Wilson was William B. Wilson. Mr. Wilson founded and was the Secretary-Treasurer of the United Mine Workers of America. Working conditions and labor peace became a major focus of the Department of Labor once the United States entered World War 1 in 1917. This is when the 8-hour workday originated. The Department of Labor played a major role in laws for laborers during World War II and the Great Depression. Frances Perkins, appointed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1933, was the first woman to serve in the President's Cabinet.

President Roosevelt signing the Social Security Act. Secretary of Labor Perkins is directly behind the President. The Social Security Act was signed in 1935 in an effort to prevent future depressions.
The Department of Labor is housed in the Frances Perkins Building located at 200 Constitution Ave. NW. The building was named after her in 1980.
Artist Jean MacLane's portrait of Frances Perkins. Perkins served for 12 years and 3 months. This is longer than any other Secretary.
Thomas E. Perez served as Secretary of Labor under President Obama. Perez is currently running for the Chair of the Democratic National Committee.
Labor Day is always the first Monday in September, beginning in 1894 and observed by 29 states. There is a debate as to whether Matthew Maguire or Peter McGuire is actually the "Father of Labor Day."
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is responsible for establishing minimum wage, child-labor standards, overtime pay, and recordkeeping. The act applies to both full and part-time workers in the private sector as well as individuals who work for the Federal, State, and local governments. In 2009, minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour. This act also establishes the rate of overtime pay which is one and one-half times the regular rate of pay after forty hours of work in a given workweek.
The Fair Labor Standards Act also has regulations for child labor. The minimum age for employment in a non-agricultural job is 14. There are strict guidelines for work hours and days for workers aged 14 and 15. The Act does not limit hours or work days for anyone 16 and older.

From @USDOL on Twitter: On This Day in 1917, the U.S. entered WWI. "Farmerettes" of the Woman's Land Army of America took on farm work after men were called to war.

"Breadline," Sculpture As of February 2017, the National Unemployment Rate is 4.7% which equals 7.5 million people. The rate at this time last year was 4.9%.
There are 21 Agencies and/or Programs within the Department of Labor. Each program or agency has an Assistant Secretary or other official as it's head.


All images used were searched through www.spark.adobe.com.


Created with images by DonkeyHotey - "Department of Labor Seal" • FDR Presidential Library & Museum - "53-227(18)" • Boston Public Library - "U. S. Department of Labor, Washington, D. C." • USDAgov - "U.S. Labor Secretary Thomas Perez" • voltamax - "industrial security logistic" • StartupStockPhotos - "office startup business" • tpsdave - "surgery operation hospital" • Greencolander - "Construction" • zoetnet - "waitress" • Adam, L'Iconoclaste Banal - "Barista" • PublicDomainPictures - "sculpture art breadline"

Report Abuse

If you feel that this video content violates the Adobe Terms of Use, you may report this content by filling out this quick form.

To report a Copyright Violation, please follow Section 17 in the Terms of Use.