Loading

8th Grade Peek of the Week September 30th-October 4th

#BeYouBeHereBelong
#OnceARedskinAlwaysARedskin
So many ELITE things happening in the month of October & November!!! Check it out!!!
CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR 2019-2020 BCMS TEACHER OF THE YEAR...
COACH HILLS!!!

What's Happening at BCMS This Week?

#CelebrateMonday
  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • Kindness Crew Announced!!!
  • Homecoming Week: Character Day!!!
  • Ongoing: Corks Kettle Corn Fundraiser!!!
#TurnUPTuesday
  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • Softball AWAY vs. Screven @4:30!!!
  • Tennis HOME vs. Screven @4:00!!!
  • Homecoming Week: Country/Country Club/Hawaiian Day!!!
  • Ongoing: Corks Kettle Corn Fundraiser
#WinWednesday
  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • Ongoing: Corks Kettle Corn Fundraiser!!!
  • Homecoming Week: Tacky Day!!!
#ThankfulThursday
  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • 8th Grade Field Trip to GSU (10-2)!!!
  • Pep Rally @2:55 in BCMS Gym!!!
  • Football HOME vs. Screven @5:00!!!
  • Kindness Scholars Announced @ Halftime!!!
  • Homecoming Parade (Downtown Pembroke)!!!
  • Homecoming Week: Throwback Day!!!
  • Ongoing: Corks Kettle Corn Fundraiser!!!
#FocusFriday
  • Being ELITE in our 20 Square Feet!!!
  • PBIS End of Quarter Flag Football Game!!!
  • BCHS Football HOME vs. Jeff Davis @7:30 (Homecoming)!!!
  • Corks Kettle Corn Fundraiser Money DUE!!!
GO REDSKINS!!!
#Winning!!!
Come out and support OUR BCMS Redskin Scholar-Athletes!!!

What's Happening in 8th Grade This Week???

English Language Arts
  • Read 180 (Romberg/Durrence): In READ 180, whole group instruction will review key parts to writing a summary and complete their mid-unit assessments. In small group, scholars will work writing short responses. In independent reading, scholars will read books on their Lexiles from the READ 180 library and complete reading logs. In APP, scholars will independently work on selected APP segments to close learning gaps and complete APP logs.
  • 8th Grade ELA (Hills): In 8th ELA, we will complete the Unit 2 Pretest and begin to examine the Engaging Scenario for Unit 2. This unit is centered around informational writing and non-fiction texts. I can not WAIT to dive into this unit. All exams and essays have been graded and input input in PowerSchool for Unit 1. If any assignments or assessments are missing or incomplete, make sure your child has this completed by the end of the day on Friday, October 3rd -the end of the quarter.-
  • 9th Grade Literature & Composition (Hills/Romberg): Lit and Comp will take their end of nine weeks assessment on 10/2/19. Scholars will explore the idea of the anti-hero while reading the story of “The Most Dangerous Game.” Scholars were assigned projects about The Odyssey three weeks ago. These projects are due on Tuesday, Oct. 1st. Remind students to check their Google Classroom for the translation website, assignments, and other helpful resources. No extensions or extra credit will be given for projects.
Science
  • 8th Grade Science (Herndon/Winkworth/Beasley, Joyner):

This week scholars will develop the understanding of particle motion in the different states of matter. Changes in temperature can cause shifts in states of matter. Scholars will learn to recognize the matter phase change as an increase or decrease in particle motion caused by a change in temperature. The will learn about the four main states of matter: Solid, Liquid, Gas, and Plasma. They will learn how to describe the process by which matter phases: Freezing, Melting, Boiling, Condensing, Ionization, Deionization, Deposition, and Sublimation.

Social Studies:
  • 8th Grade Georgia Studies (Sanchez/Styron/Beasley/Joyner):

This week in Georgia Studies, we will be wrapping up our unit on Exploration and Colonization this week. We will be reviewing with online games and taking our unit assessment.

Georgia History ROCKS!!!
Math
Growing scholars is what WE do!
  • 8th Grade Math (Meeks/Carver/Beasley/ Durrence): Scholars will be finishing up Unit 1 over Angle Pairs, Triangle Theorems, & Transformations by completing their study guide on Monday and having their summative assessment on Tuesday and Wednesday. Be sure to check out the review on your google classroom. All assignments for first quarter are due by Friday.
  • Algebra 1 (Meeks): Scholars will begin a performance task on Monday. Wednesday, scholars will explore polynomials. All assignments for first quarter are due by Friday, October 4th.
  • Meeks & Carver Tutorial: Wednesday 3:35-4:30
Let's Get Ready to Dress Up for Homecoming 2019!!!
IT'S FIELD TRIP TIME!!!
Check out the details for our October 3rd Field Trip to Georgia Southern!!! ALL Forms and Money are due by Friday, September 27th!!!
#TheREALGSU
Get ExExExcited for the Advanced Content Field Trip to Washington D.C. February 5-8, 2020!!!
Log onto kellytours.com to reserve your spot!!!
Are you ready for the 8th Grade Field Trip on May 15th to Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida to experience GRADVENTURE???
Log onto kellytours.com to reserve your spot!!!
Nom! Nom! Nom!
Our #BeBCMS 2019-2020 Class Schedule!!!

Our 8th Grade Tribe:

English Language Arts
  • Lexy Romberg (Read 180/9th Lit): lromberg@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Teresa Durrence (Read 180): tdurrence@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Quincy Hills (8th ELA/9th Lit): qhills@bryan.k12.ga.us
Science
  • Matthew Herndon (8th Science/Math Connections B): mherndon@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Marc Winkworth (8th Science/Creative Writing Connections B): mwinkworth@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Science): sbeasley@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Robbie Joyner (8th ESS Science): rjoyner@bryan.k12.ga.us
Social Studies
  • Marie Sanchez (8th Georgia Studies): msanchez@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Christopher Styron (8th Georgia Studies): cstyron@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Georgia Studies): sbeasley@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Robbie Joyner (8th Grade ESS Georgia Studies): rjoyner@bryan.k12.ga.us
Math
  • April Meeks (8th Math/Algebra 1): ameeks@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Miranda Carver (8th Math): mcarver@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Theresa Durrence (8th Math): tdurrence@bryan.k12.ga.us
  • Sunny Beasley (8th Math): sbesley@bryan.k12.ga.us

At BCMS We Want YOU to Have It All!!!

Created By
Quincy Hills
Appreciate